Founder of the Shedrack Agediga Foundation (SAF) and Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to Governor Okowa on Conflict Management, Comrade Lucky Shedrack Agediga, has been nominated as maiden recipient of the Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela Centenary Leadership Award, billed to hold today in Wellington Hotel along DSC Expressway, Effurun, Delta state by 3pm.

This was made known during a courtesy visit by Comrade Agediga to the headquarters of the acclaimed Niger Delta Most Influential Newspaper, GbaramatuVoice media house in Warri.

The governor’s aide said Nelson Mandela, the South African icon, who died at the age of 95years, would turn 100 years on Wednesday, July 18, and in order to mark the centenary birthday, the Nelson Mandela Foundation had deemed it fit to recognize certain individuals with Centenary Leadership Award to which he has been named as recipient.

In his words, “The reason why I’m here is to inform the organisation that Wednesday, 18th of July 2018, will be the centenary celebration of Nelson Mandela. Nelson Mandela will be 100 years and he is being celebrated all around the world.

“And so, we are also organising a programme here in Nigeria. And as part of the celebration, the Nelson Mandela Foundation deemed it necessary to recognize certain persons in the society all over the world for their contributions to humanity. And so, there was a team that was set up to manage that process in South Africa and my name was also nominated. Luckily for us I was picked as one of the recipients of the Centenary Leadership Award of Peace and Conflict Resolution,” he added.

He also revealed that personalities billed to grace this year centenary celebration are; His Excellency, Barr. Kingsley Burutu Otuaro, the Deputy Governor of Delta state as special guest of honour; His Royal Majesty, Elder Capt. Joseph Timiyan (JP), Torububou 1, the Ebezenawei of Ogulagha Kingdom; and Najma Abdi Ahmed, Global Deputy President IPAYP/Chair, Somali Youth Leadership Forum (SYLF).

The programme will also witness a centenary lecture titled ‘Live the Legacy’ to be delivered by Dr. Nathaniel Danjibo, President, Society for Peace Studies and Practice, SPSP.

This year’s Nelson Mandela Centenary leadership Award is being organized by the Independent Pan African Youth Parliament (IPAYP) with the support of Nelson Mandela Foundation.

By Francis Abai

Share your story with us: 08030891146 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email: or

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!

Leave feedback about this