News Sport

FIFA World Cup 2022 prize money breakdown

FIFA WORLD 2022: No parties, unmarried fans risk 7 years in jail for having sex in Qatar

FIFA World Cup 2022 prize money breakdown

The prize money for participating teams at the 2022 World Cup ongoing in Qatar is a whopping total of $440 million.

The 2022 tournament featured 32 teams from various countries across the globe. 13 countries from Europe, five African teams, four North American countries, four countries from South America and six countries from Asia.

The teams that exited the World Cup at the group stage – Qatar, Ecuador, Wales, Iran, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Tunisia, Canada, Belgium, Germany, Costa Rica, Serbia, Cameroon, Ghana, Uruguay – all earned $9 million each.

ALSO READ: FIFA WORLD CUP 2022: Group stage fixtures, time and venues (From the opening game to the final)

The teams that made it through to the round of 16 – USA, Senegal, Australia, Poland, Spain, Japan, Switzerland, South Korea – all earned $13 million each

While those that reached the quarter-finals -Brazil, Netherlands, Portugal, England – earned $17 million each.

Fourth place team Morocco, earned $25 million.

Third-placed team Croatia earned $27 million.

The runner-up between Argentina or France will earn $30 million, while the 2022 FIFA World Cup winner will earn $42 million.

This is an increase of $40m compared to the 2018 tournament.

World Cup 2022 prize money breakdown
Position Prize money (USD)

Winner: $42m
Runner-up: $30m
Third place: $27m
Fourth place: $25m
Quarter-final: $17m
Last 16: $13m
Group stage: $9m

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!