Delta News

Delta govt appoints 47 Justice of Peace

By Enaibo Asiayei 

In its determination to take justice to the grassroots and deepen peaceful co-existence, the Delta State Government has appointed 47 prominent Deltans including the Amatukpa of Ogulagha kingdom, Chief Emaye Benidiwei, Chief Linus Yeinanagbegha, Chief (Mrs.) Karawei Dora, were on Monday March 1, 2021 appointed as Justice of Peace (JP) at the Ughelli High Court.

Also appointed are Chief (Mrs.) Ebikebina Benidiwei, Chief Collins Kemeyan, Chief Ann Maika, among others.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony, Chief Judge of the state, Justice Marshal Umukoro, said the appointment was necessitated by the desire of the state governor to bring justice closer to the people and minimize crime in the society.

Chief Benidiwei Emaye, taking the oath of office.

Charging them to be transparent in their actions and decisions, he urged the new Justice of Peace (JPs) to lead by example, and work faithfully with the governor of the state, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa to fast track peace and development, adding that it can only be done when they contribute to assist the government positively in their individual capacities.

Chief Emaye and Chief Kemeyan, thanked the state government for finding them worthy of the appointment and promised not to betray the confidence reposed in them by the governor of Delta State.

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!