Delta News Politics

[BREAKING] Governor Okowa sends fresh list of commissioner-nominees to Delta Assembly

By Enaibo Asiayei 

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa has sent fresh names of seventeen commissioner-designates to the Delta State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The names of the nominees were read by the Speaker, Honorable Sheriff Oborevwori at plenary on Thursday, June 18, 2021.

Those nominated by the governor for appointment as commissioners are; Mr. Charles Aniagwu; Dr. Barry Gbe; Mr. Ifeanyi Egwuyenga; Chief Arthur Akpowowo; Chief Festus Ochonogor.

Others are Mrs. Flora Alanta; Mr. Churchill Amagada; Engr. Jonathan Igworiwoh; Hon. Evelyn Oboro; Engr. Noel Omordon; Chief Fidelis Tilije and Mrs Rose Esenwu.

Also nominated as Commissioner are, Engr. Lawrence Ejiofor; Princess Shola Ogbemi-Daibo; Mr. Chris Onogba; Barr. Kate Oniawan, and Mr. John Onyema.

Governor Okowa said the nomination of members of the State Executive Council was in line with the powers vested on him by section 192, subsection 2 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The nominees have been directed to submit twenty-five copies of their CV to the office of the Clark on or before June 21, and to appear for screening on June 22, 2021.

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!