National Politics

APC Releases List of Senatorial Aspirants Cleared to Contest 2019 Polls

The All Progressives Congress (APC) screening panel for senatorial aspirants has released the list of aspirants cleared to contest the senatorial elections next year.

Among the aspirants cleared are former Delta State governor Emmanuel Uduaghan, Governors Ibikunle Amosun, Abiola Ajimobi, Tanko Al-Makura and Kashim shettima.

In Lagos and Ondo States, all the incumbents have been cleared unopposed to run for the election once again.

In Delta, former governor Uduaghan is the only APC aspirant in Delta South. Dayo Adeyeye and a former governorship aspirant in Ekiti State is the only candidate of the APC for Ekiti South.

There are however, seven aspirants in the race for Ekiti North and two for Ekiti central. The latter ticket is a straight fight between incumbent Fatima Raji-Rasaki and former House of Representatives member Bamidele Opeyemi.

In Ogun central, Governor Amosun will slug it out with Senator Lanre Tejuoso, while the consensus candidate for Ogun East, Senator Lekan Mustapha, has four other aspirants to contend with. One of them is Olusegun Adesegun, a former deputy governor in the state.

In Oyo, Governor Abiola Ajimobi will run against Senator Teslim Folarin, who crossed to APC from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Oyo North Senator Buhari is the sole candidate, just like Oyo South, which has Dr. Folarin Olufisayo.

In Kogi State, 13 aspirants have been cleared. Former Senator Smart Adeyemi is making a bid for his old seat in Kogi West. Incumbent Dino Melaye is now in PDP.

There are 14 aspirants in Kwara.

In Nasarawa, Governor Tanko Al-Makura has Senator Hussaini Egye to beat to clinch the ticket for Nasarawa South.

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!

Leave feedback about this