Breaking News

2023: Tinubu wins APC presidential ticket

How I made Osinbajo Vice President – Tinubu

Former Lagos Governor Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the presidential ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He polled 1,271 votes to defeat other aspirants at the party’s primary in Eagle Square, Abuja.

ALSO READ: Akpabio, Fayemi, Amosun, three other aspirants step down for Tinubu

He defeated Rotimi Amaechi who scored 316 votes and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who got 235.

He was declared winner of the contest by Kebbi Governor Abubakar Bagudu,who is chairman of the APC Election Management Committee.

He will square up with People Democratic People(PDP) presidential candidate Atiku Abubakar and others at the 2023 general elections.

Nine aspirants had earlier stepped down, eight of whom asked their supporters to vote for Tinubu, while one asked his supporters to vote for Osinbajo.

Those who stepped down before voting began are Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Robert Boroffice, Ken Nnamani, Ibikunle Amosun, Dimeji Bankole, Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi and Godswill Akpabio.

They asked their supporters to vote for Tinubu, just as the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Ken-Ohanenye, followed suit.

Pastor Felix Nicholas, the United States of America-based aspirant also stepped down and asked his supporters to vote for Osinbajo.

A candidate, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, immediate past Minister of State for Education, was conspicuously absent at the convention.

Support Quality Journalism in the Niger Delta Region

Join us in our mission to bring development journalism, cultural preservation, and environmental awareness to the forefront. Your contribution makes a difference in the lives of the people of the Niger Delta. Donate today and be a part of the change!